The Stockport Business Awards - The Highly Commended

News
13/02/2018

The highly prestigious Stockport Business Awards took place last October and received hundreds of applications from businesses in the Stockport Borough. Chartered accountants, Clarke Nicklin, who are the organisers, founders, and main sponsors of the event, held the first award ceremony back in 2012 at the Hallmark Hotel. The event was huge success and soon moved to the iconic Stockport Town Hall.


The 2017 awards was a sell-out event with 400 guests in attendance from businesses within the Stockport community, all with an invested interest in supporting the Stockport business network. The awards not only welcome local business people, but in the past years have attracted local celebrities, such as actor Will Mellor, best known for his roles in Hollyoaks and Two Pints of Larger and a Packet of Crisps, and former key 103 presenter and now BBC Radio Manchester presenter, Chelsea Norris, who hosted the 2016 awards. The 2017 awards were hosted by TV presenter Jenny Powell.


The quality of applications to the 12 categories was outstanding, and the judging panel really had their work cut out, and whilst the winners were truly deserved and celebrated on the evening, lest we forget the highly commended. See below a full run down of those highly commended:


Business of the Year (Over 5m)

  • Active Flooring - www.active-flooring.com
  • IMS (Euro) – www.imseuro.co.uk

Business of the Year (1-5m)

  • Leads 2 Trade – www.leads2trade.co.uk
  • IMS (Euro) – www.imseuro.co.uk

Business of the Year (up to £1m)

  • ECS Consultants - www.ecs-ecs.co.uk
  • Hatters Promotions – www.hatterspromotions.com

Most Promising Business

  • Agile Automations - www.agileautomations.co.uk
  • Film My Match - www.filmmymatch.com

Employer of the Year

  • Julian Wadden - www.julianwadden.co.uk
  • IMS (Euro) - imseuro.co.uk

Business Person of the year

  • James Atkinson - P&P Mailing - www.pandpmailing.co.uk
  • Carl Hampson – Allied Bakeries - www.alliedbakeries.co.uk

International Business of the Year

  • Laser Quantum - www.laserquantum.com
  • Nexperia - www.nexperia.com

Best Non- for-Profit Organisation

  • Pure Insight - www.pure-insight.org.uk
  • St Ann’s Hospice - www.sah.org.uk

The Innovation Award

  • Glossop Cartons – www.glossopcartons.co.uk
  • Life Leisure – ActiLife - www.lifeleisure.net

Best Creative/Design Agency

  • Bellyflop TV - www.bellyflop.tv.co.uk
  • Trust – www.madewithtrust.co.uk

Excellence in CSR

  • SAS Daniels – www.sasdaniels.co.uk
  • Stockport Homes - www.stockporthomes.org

Best Food & Drink Retailer

  • Rhode Island Coffee - www.rhodeislandcoffee.co.uk/locations/stockport
  • Where The Light Gets In – www.wtlgi.co.uk

Marketing manager for Clarke Nicklin, Laura Frost, has been out and about visiting each business and delivery their highly commended awards, Laura commented:

“It’s great to meet so many businesses getting involved in the Stockport Business Awards and celebrating success within the community”


Jacky Sidebottom, Sales Director at Glossop Cartons said:

“Entering the Stockport Business Awards was great fun, to be short listed was a great surprise and an honour. Myself and some colleagues had a fantastic night at the award ceremony, great venue, entertaining guest host, tasty meal, and the excitement of the awards made it a night to remember. To find out later we were Highly Commended was brilliant, a great moral booster for the team at Glossop Cartons. Thank you to all involved.”


The 2018 Stockport Business Awards will take place on Thursday 11th October and entries will open in April – keep an eye on the https://stockportbusinessawards.co.uk/ for more information and updates.


For any queries please contact laurafrost@clarkenicklin.co.uk

Latest News